Downtown balcony

What’s It All About?

Where did I look to answer that question when forming my “About” page?  It’s hard to look in the past for that, unless you carry your past around like an old suitcase, which (hate to say) I do occasionally…  I look at what’s on my mind.  What am I consumed by?  I’m coming to discover that what I write about will always be pertinent as long as it means something to me or someone else, for that matter.  Right now, taking action to move back home to be with my family and friends is foremost in my mind even more than it has been in the last 10 years.  Dad’s passing has shoved it under a magnifying glass.

The snippet I put in my “About” text widget is an easy declaration of my future in the next year.  Like I’m promising in front of God and all, that I’m coming home next summer!  It’s like going to a Weight Watchers meeting and getting on the scale.  It’s putting it out there for all to see.  There’s my promise.  I’m making a promise.  If I don’t do what I said you have every right to judge me for the scoundrel that I’ll be…  (By the way, the last couple of sentences is the dialogue I have in my head.  They don’t tell you that at Weight Watchers.  I should know.  I work for them.)

Are there things I wouldn’t write about?  Sure.  Sex is never pretty.  Maybe that’s because I’m getting older and it’s not at the top of my list anymore.  Well, look at that, I just wrote about sex… hmm?

I notice it’s hard to stop explaining.  Not sure what I look like to someone reading my blog, but I know in my everyday life I’m always having to justify things.  It’s exhausting!  Sometimes the simpleness of a simple story is art.  Too many details make it an exhausting mess.

So this is what I would love to learn from this experience:

  1. That I can do this.  What that means is that I can create a successful site along with becoming a web developer, get THE job and move back home with a comfortable salary. Dad is gonna help me with the confidence part, right Dad?
  2. That I can write about anything and make it interesting enough for people who don’t know me to want to come back to my site to read more.
  3. I would love to be able to speak to someone out there in a similar situation.  Are you living away from your hometown and either loving it or not?  I’d love to hear from y’all!!
3 thoughts on “What’s It All About?”

  1. You have a really interesting style of writing (I do mean that in a good way, I swear!) I’m really excited to see what you will write about in the future. I think you already have the ability to make anything interesting in your writing, but there is always room for improvement so you can get even better through this course! (I found you via blogging101)

    Like

  2. I totally get this. My wife and I were thinking of moving back three years into our Ohio stint, then I got a promotion, so we buckled in for one more winter. In February (and not just because of winter, but many other things too) my wife said, I’m calling RIck (the realtor who’d sold us the house) tomorrow. I said okay. Next thing I knew there was a “coming soon” sign in front of the house. Next thing I knew we were cleaning out the place to show it. We got an offer from the first showing. And then my wife was calling moving companies and I’m like “not only cannot I not believe this is happening, I can’t believe it’s happening so fast.” We left at the end of May. It was so surreal coming back, and being back. Such a whilrwind. I almost had at least three attacks. At one point I was about to sell a house with nowher to go and no job to go to. That it all worked out was an absolute miracle.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This sounds like what it might be for us. My husband is looking. I’m in school to get an associate’s degree in web design. My kids are in agreement that going to school back home could work. My son may have to take a year off so we can establish residency. That’s a big honking deal! Glad to have met you sir! Just moved my site to bluehost. If you’d like to stay in touch I invite you to pop on in every now and then. http://diane507.com
      I will keep my eye on you. I love your voice and I think you are very talented as a writer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

